Sherry Thomas: The Magnolia Sword A Ballad of Mulan



This is the first novel I signed up as an editor at Lee Low and it has all the excellent things you want a Mulan retelling to have a Mulan who s figuring out who she is an epic sweep in the war against the Northerners family drama terrific fight scenes romance I ve loved reading every draft and I think readers will love it too Loved the martial arts liked the characters not a fan of the war strategyAlso super weird reading a rather modern first erson account of something that allegedly was taking lace back in 484 ADBut I liked it nonethelessOne of the best things about this book in my opinion is Mulan s fear She s a trained warrior which is excellent and she is loyal to her family so she doesn t think twice about enlisting to save the rest of her family Her intentions are honourable But she wants to come home to them so if that means hiding out on the sidelines then that s what she ll do When she does finally see battle there s no fancy fighting there s just Mulan dealing with the first serious CHINA 484 ADA Warrior in DisguiseAll her life Mulan has trained for one urpose to win the duel that every generation in her family must fight If she The Full Experience prevails she can reunite aair of You Dont Have to Say You Love Me priceless heirloom swords separated decades earlier and avenge her father who wasaralyzed in his own duelThen a messenger from the Emperor arrives demanding that all families send one soldier to fight the Rouran invaders in the north Mulan's.

book books The Magnolia Sword A Ballad of Mulan – cafe1919.org

Download The Magnolia Sword A Ballad of Mulan

Those details anyway so I m kind of glad it skimmed over it all In the end it was an easy read with some memorable moments but nothing Voodoo Season particularly special I found it a little bland but it was a decent re telling of the legend Last time a book lured me in with theromise of a Mulan retelling I was so disappointed because the storyline barely resembled Mulan save for the fact that the heroine dressed as a boy yes Flame in the Mist I m looking at you But this The Walking Dead Live! premise sounds like an actual retelling Written by a Chinese American author who knows her shit So you d better deliver me what youromise book MULAN RETELLING I really hope this is legitOoo this finally has a title The Magnolia Scotty Scotts Guide to Relationships part really makes me think of the Mulan Chinese drama I watched a while back I don t think I ve actually read a novelised version of Mulan before so this was a first It s obviously not the disney version and this is rooted in actual history I learned so much about China 5th century AD and after reading the author s He Great Wall to face the enemy beyond Mulan and therinceling must find a way to unwind their ast unmask a traitor and uncover the lans for the Rouran invasion before it's too lateInspired by wuxia martial arts dramas as well as the centuries old ballad of Mulan The Magnolia Sword is erfect for fans of Renee Ahdieh Marie Lu or Kristin Cashore a thrilling romantic and sharp edged novel that lives up to its beloved heroine.

Ight she s ever been involved in and her reaction is raw and real She s terrified as anyone would beIt s lacking the fun of the Disney version and there s a lot emphasis on China olitics at the time There s no Mushu or lucky cricket sadly and there s a serious tone to the whole thing that did unfortunately drag it down for me But the characters to serve to lighten the mood a little Written in Red Ink particularly Kedan who I was uick to take a liking to The martial arts scenes were clearly written by an author who did her research This wasrobably my favourite Crash Landing (Bear Creek, part of the book reading the intricate details and the strategy of each fighter I loved it all Plus I really enjoyed the chemistry between Mulan and Kai when they re fighting both with and against each otherI have mixed feelings about it being a YA novel because the tone seemed wrong to me it was light on details and the language was modern so it failed toroperly immerse me in the setting of ancient China But at the same time I wasn t Piper particularly keen on all. Father cannot go Her brother is just a child So she ties up her hair takes up her sword and joins the army as a manA War for a DynastyThanks to her martial arts skills Mulan is chosen for an elite team under the command of therinceling the royal duke's son who is also the handsomest man she's ever seen But the rinceling has secrets of his own which explode into Mulan's life and shake up everything she knows As they cross

Visit Sherry at her website