T.A. Pratt: Dead Reign Marla Mason #3



The startSoon Marla and Rondeau are split up by circumstances but they both know how to get things done ven if they have different ways of doing so I March Violets (Bernie Gunther, enjoyed seeing howach of them tried to make the best of the situation they were thrown intoThere are lots of cool and fun vents in this book I love the way Pratt mixes humor with a really suspenseful story Although I must say that I m sure by now that Marla will find a way out of trouble And some things that happen make me wonder if Marla isn t maybe getting too powerful On the other hand if the books keep being as cool as this one I don t care if Marla is too powerful or not And this book does nd with a very interesting cliffhanger so you can be sure I ll read the next book soon Have to say this is probably my favorite Marla Mason book so far I already finished 4 Also with that perspective have to say this is beginning to look like a Water Music every other one is really good set up because 2 Poison Sleep was just long and 4 Spell Games was also long and went andnded on a cliff hanger which I m still pissed about Dead Reign though was a good solid ass kicking book What I like about Marla is that she has faults and they do NOT help her so she s realistic flawed and does not always win in the Revived end and live happilyver after Friends die shit gets bad and she screws stuff up Things are not ok and you have to deal with your mistakes and conseuences of your actions I like that she had to face her demons uite a bit literally in this book facing the karmic debt of people she s killed while fighting her way through the underworld Also the conclusion was not something you could anticipate or see coming Don t like to spoiler things so I ll leave it at that Death takes over Felport and banishes Marla Mason the chief sorcerer She can t get back into her city she can t Student Research Projects in Calculus even communicate with anyone still in there andven if she could Death has powers beyond mortal comprehensionSo she storms the Underworld God I love her Marla Mason is a badass anyone who creatively thinks her way though the problems she faces and wins is amazing Ultimate favorite urban fantasy lead female When death comes to town looking for his toy and banishes Marla from her town She says well screw that guy and goes to take over Deaths kingdom to get back at him That s the kind of big thinking that I love So urban fantasy books have a couple of problems that I ve run into There are a couple of lead character tropes that I don t like One the lead character is crazy go nuts strong but dumb and blindly stumbles on to the plot Or the lead character is super smart and clever but to add to the mystery the author will keep us in the dark on key plot points to be reveled later Leaving me as the reader to be like wait where was I This specially bugs me in a first person point of view book But thi GUYZ GUESS WHO HAS A FAVORITE NEW SERIES DPoor poor Marla LMAO It just keeps getting worse and worse for her You really have to give it to her though She truly thinks outside the box Oh Death thinks he can just take over MY city Fuck that I m taking over Hell I really liked this installment Marla has to content with The Walking Deathcrazy story Really like these characters looking forward to the next on. G Marla needs is all out war with the King of the Underworld but that’s xactly what she’s got As the battle lines are drawn she can count on her hedonistic body hopping partner Rondeaubut how many of her old allies will stand by her side when facing the ultimate adversary To save her city Marla will have to find a way to cheat Death literall.

This is the third book in the series featuring Marla Mason the head of all the hidden magic society in Felport an imaginary East Coast city in the tradition of Gotham and Metropolis though I d say Felport is closer to the former than the latter Aside from a new urban center and the magic Marla s world is pretty close to our own Anyway in this book One of my continuing goals is to try out new authors As there will unlikely be a new Dresden Files books this year I m Love for Imperfect Things exploring for me some new urban fantasy authors For all of the negatives that have been posted about Butcher s writing and the Dresden books I ll have to say I don t think Pratt s Marla Mason is uite as good a readOn the plus side Marla is a muchngaging character than Hamilton s Anita Blake I m willing to buy Marla s wise ass commentary and attempt at a no nonsense attitude From a characterization view Pratt s character would benefit from giving the reader than just the surface snark and toughness There are hints about deeper aspects of Marla during her Underworld A Heart of Stone excursion which I was happy to read but not uitenough to insure that I would read of the character s adventuresThe pluses remain an Taking Instruction (Taboo, engagingnough lead character some small world building and perhaps the biggest piece of credit that I have to give Pratt is that his solution to Marla s problem is not Language and Linguistics easy or a Russell T Davies cop outOn the minus side the city of Felport should have bee I believe a real city Butcher has used Chicago Blake St Louis and I forget the city Kim Harrison uses I think that a real city would have worked better as its own background character The story might have been better as a novella or short story because I think the concept isn t uite longnough for a novelThe concept is that the incarnation of Death comes to Felport deposes Marla from her position as chief sorcerer and banishes Marla from the city Marla has to find a way to beat the banishment spell and regain her seat of powerIn the interests of full disclosure this is the third book in the series and with the publisher dropping the contract Pratt is now Divertimento essentially self publishing the new book can be found on An argument could be made that the character work done here pays off in later books So from a character view Marla is much better than Anita Blake as I couldn t buy into Blake no matter how hard I tried The city setting would have been better in a real cityven though I admit Simon Green does make London s second city the Nightside work in his short storiesTowards the top of the TBR pile is an Iron Druid book for me to try out and I m considering giving Kim Harrison another try in this genre a few disappointing urban fantasy reads recently Dead Reign by TA Pratt was a welcomed change This is the third installment of the Marla Mason series and it gave me just what I was Love Is a Fairy Tale expecting to get out of it I m glad I held back continuing the series after finishing up Poison Sleep a few months back as reading Dead Reign when I did was just what I needed at the timeDeath has come to Felport and naturally it s chief sorcerer Marla Mason who has to put a stop to him before he destroys her precious city The timing is inconvenient as she has to appease the ghosts of the founders by throwing. Death has come calling and one womanhas what he wants most of all As chief sorcerer of Felport Marla Mason thought she’d facedvery kind of Promise at Dawn evil the magical world had to offer But she’s never faced a killer like this He’s dark glib handsome as the devil andxactly who he says he is Death in the flesh He’s arrived in Felport with a poss.

A party in their honor or risk mayhem through her city By the same token she s short on allies and people who she can trust not that trust has ver been something she could count on in her world Needless to say that Marla finds herself outmatched by a god but that has never stopped Marla from picking a fight to defend her cityMarla Mason is uickly becoming one of my favorite characters in fantasy a no nonsense kickass heroine with a heart of gold At least that s how she resides in my mind love is blind I guess We see of that here as Marla takes on an ntity that simply is too powerful Bangkok Wakes to Rain even for her But who cares right If someone is going to take over Felport it ll be over Marla s dead body and who better for the job than Death himselfAfterach installment the character interaction has been better and better The author seems to have hit his comfort zone the dialogue has good rhythm and the characters and the world complement The Right Sort of Man (Sparks Bainbridge Mystery each other perfectly While in the first Marla Mason novel there were a few head scratchers for me in how somelements might have seemed a bit out of place Darkmere everything being introduced just seems to fit naturally right now regardless of how outlandish it may seem It all starts with how well Marla has come along andspecially the great supporting cast she has been surrounded with beginning with her sidekick Rondeau who has become a fascinating character in his own right Dead Reign than just being a novel about Marla overcoming odds to protect her city it s also about soul searching for her As such I couldn t think of a fitting title for the novel the dead in some form or another have left their imprints allover this novel Marla undertakes a journey where she literally faces the demons of her past which in ways have been stunting her personal growth Through the novel we get to know her better than Et si la maladie n'tait pas un hasard ? ever beforexpressly aspects of her past that we ve been in the dark about Not only that we also learn about the nature of magical artifacts in particular that of the dagger of office and Marla s cloakMy only real complaint is that through Marla s journey we are faced with a few scenes that I didn t care much for particularly ones that were rehashes of Den of Shadows (Gamblers Den events we ve alreadyxperienced Other than that a ton of fun and full of gratifying Scraps Of The Untainted Sky events It has a cliffhanger for annding one that I very much liked I say that but know that the plot that was laid out in Dead Reign was concluded It s inconseuential though since you can just pick up the next novel and continue the story without a problem which I didIn any case another The Eric Carle Gift Set entertaining novel from TA Pratt which has the Marla Mason series steadily climbing the ranks among my favorite urban fantasies It s a series that I canasily recommend to any urban fantasy reader and welcome readers outside the sub genre to give a try TA Pratt is a bloody bright writer I ve been listening too this series The details are so specific that you can tell he puts a lot of thought into his writing Listen to this series for a very Huguenot Prophecy and Clandestine Worship in the Eighteenth Century entertaining story This is yet another great addition to a really cool seriesThis book starts with Marla and Rondeau having a conversation about zombies while they re spying on a necromancer So you can bet I was hooked from. E composed of a half insane necromancer and the reanimated corpse of John Wilkes Booth and he isn’t leaving until he gets what he came for Only Marla is crazynough to tell Death to go back to Hell With the Founders’ Ball just around the bend drawing together the brightest meanest and most dangerous of Felport’s magical lite the last thin.

Read Dead Reign Marla Mason #3

Epub online Dead Reign Marla Mason #3 BY T.A. Pratt – cafe1919.org

Tim Pratt under which he penned the Marla Mason booksI've crowdfunded seven projects four through Kickstarter successfully in the past few years and I don't foresee any problems with this one either I write novels for a living and this is a book I'm excited to do It's always possible there will be bumps and delays on the production process or an unforeseen illness or other disaster but if so I'll keep everyone posted and we'll get there in the end